Intercollegiate Broadcasting System

Each year the Intercollegiate Broadcasting System holds their annual Golden Mic Awards and conference in New York City to salute the best in student broadcasting from across the country. WEEM began competing at the competition in 2016 and has been recognized each year for our students’ broadcasting excellence.


Best Sports Pre/Post Game Show (Sam Bannon & Jayden Brown)

Best Community Outreach Event (Arabian Rumble)

Best Station Promotional Poster (Arabian Rumble)

Best Giveaway Item (Arabian Rumble Tickets)

Best Press Release (Arabian Rumble)

Best Podcast (Cheese & Flash)

Best Spot News Interview (Jonah Griffard at June Jamboree)

Best Show Promo (Cheese & Flash)

Best Liner/Sweeper (Austen Michael & Chaston Green)

Best Morning Show (Emily Harless & Claire Goodwin)

Best News Director (Emily Harless)

Best Business Director (Garrett Nealon)

Tom Gibson Award for Outstanding Radio Engineering (Mr. David Seal & Mr. Greg Case)

Best Training Manual

Best Staff Training Method

Best Staff Newsletter


Best Station Contest/Event (Last Splash)

Best Artists/Band Interview (Zoe Dwiggins)

Best Radio Drama (Zoe Dwiggins & Audrey Hosier)

Best Use of Social Media (Sound Cloud)

Best Imaging/Sweeper (Austen Michael)

Best Press Release (Jackson Keesling)

Station Manager of the Year (Brian Merrill)


Radio Station of the Year

Best Air Personality (Torin Messer)

Best Newscast (Heidi Przytulski)

Best Event Promo (Torin Messer)

Best Station Promo (Torin Messer)

Best Station Event/Contest (Kaitlyn Hale, Heidi Przytulski, and Logan Skillman)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>